What's Next?
home link

SCO News

The Hayes Center for Practice Excellence Announces 2018 Award Recipients

The Hayes Center (HCPE) for Practice Excellence, a vital resource for SCO students and alumni, is pleased to announce its 2018 award recipients for the HCPE Practice of Excellence Award.

The HCPE Practice of Excellence Award is designed to identify and reward successful practices, recognize the achievements made by SCO graduates, and help foster joint relationships that benefit both the alumni and current optometry students.

The awards are divided into three sections based on the number of years of practice: long-term graduate, midterm graduate and recent graduate.

A panel of judges consisting of members of the Hayes Center for Practice Excellence Advisory Board, the Director of HCPE and Dr. Jerry Hayes made the selection.

“This was far and away the most distinguished pool we have received for this prestigious award with 36 VERY WORTHY young ODs and practices submitting applications,” said Lisa Wade, OD ’84, MPA, Director of HCPE.

Long-Term Graduate Award recipient Kevin Rogers, OD, is a 2008 SCO graduate and the owner of Rogers Regional Eye Center, located in Greenwell Springs, Louisiana. Dr. Rogers is an active member in the American Optometric Association and the Optometry Association of Louisiana. He has also served as Past President of the Louisiana Southeast Optometric Society and is also a board member of the Central Chamber of Commerce in Central Louisiana and the Board of Commissioners for Central Fire Protection District.

Midterm Graduate Award recipients Courtney Shay, OD and Timothy LeFreniere, OD are 2012 graduates and are the owners of Virginia Eyecare Center in Burke, Virginia. Both doctors are certified by the National Board of Examiners in Optometry and the Virginia Board of Optometry.

Recent Graduate Award recipient Canaan Montgomery, OD is a 2014 graduate and the owner of the West End Eye Care in Paducah, Kentucky. Dr. Montgomery has written articles for newgradoptomerty.com and is in the process of writing a book on opening an optometry office.

Congratulations to the HCPE Practice of Excellence Award recipients!


Pictured are Kevin Rogers, OD '08, Kourtney Rogers, Courtney Shay, OD '12, Timothy LeFreniere, OD '12, Canaan Montgomery, OD '14, and Rebecca Montgomery, with Jerry Hayes, OD '73, Cris Hayes, and Nathan Hayes.

Posted by Jennifer Sharp at 3:47 PM