Get Started

Enter a search request and press enter. Press Esc or the X to close.


Licensure Disclosure

Mandatory Professional Licensure Disclosure

July 1, 2020

In compliance with Federal Regulations, 34 CFR §668.43 (2019 Rule) Southern College of Optometry (the College) provides the following disclosure related to the educational requirements for professional licensure in Optometry.

This disclosure is strictly limited to the College’s determination of whether its Doctor of Optometry (OD) educational program, if successfully completed, would be sufficient to meet the educational licensure requirements in a state for the practice of Optometry.  The College cannot provide verification of an individual’s ability to meet licensure or certification requirements unrelated to its educational programming.  Such individual determinations are made by state licensing boards, and are fact specific determinations.

This disclosure does not provide any guarantee that any particular state licensure or certification entity will approve or deny your application. Furthermore, this disclosure does not account for changes in state law or regulation that may affect your application for licensure and occur after the date of this disclosure. Enrolled students and prospective students are strongly encouraged to contact their State’s licensure entity using the links provided to review all licensure requirements imposed by their state(s) of choice.

The College has designed an educational program curriculum for its Doctor of Optometry program that if successfully completed is sufficient to meet the educational requirements for licensure and certification requirements for a Doctor of Optometry license in the following states: 

  • Alabama
  • Alaska
  • Arizona
  • Arkansas
  • California
  • Colorado
  • Connecticut
  • Delaware
  • Florida
  • Georgia
  • Hawaii
  • Idaho
  • Illinois
  • Indiana
  • Iowa
  • Kansas
  • Kentucky
  • Louisiana
  • Maine
  • Maryland
  • Massachusetts
  • Michigan
  • Minnesota
  • Mississippi
  • Missouri
  • Montana
  • Nebraska
  • Nevada
  • New Hampshire
  • New Jersey
  • New Mexico
  • New York
  • North Carolina
  • North Dakota
  • Ohio
  • Oklahoma
  • Oregon
  • Pennsylvania
  • Rhode Island
  • South Carolina
  • South Dakota
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • Utah
  • Vermont
  • Virginia
  • Washington
  • West Virginia
  • Wisconsin
  • Wyoming

Lewis Reich, O.D., Ph.D.