Sandefur Named Executive Director of the Year
What's Next?
home link

Alumni News

Sandefur Named Executive Director of the Year

James Sandefur, OD '65, Executive Director of the Optometry Association of Louisiana was recently selected as the 2014 recipient of the Virgil Deering Optometric Executive Director of the Year Award. Dr. Sandefur received the prestigious award at the 2014 American Optometric Association (AOA) Congress in Philadelphia.

The award, presented annually since 2000 by the North Central States Optometric Council to an outstanding state optometric executive director, recognizes the dedicated, capable leadership and support that state optometric associations receive from their executive directors. The award is named in honor of Virgil Deering, long-time Executive Director of the Iowa Optometric Association.

Dr. Sandefur was recognized for his leadership in restructuring the Optometry Association of Louisiana, his work in the legislature, and his service to optometry on the local, state and national levels. In recognition of a lifetime of service to optometry, he has also been awarded the Lifetime Achievement Award from Southern College of Optometry, the highest honor the college bestows on its alumni, and the AOA’s Distinguished Service Award. Dr. Sandefur serves on SCO's Board of Trustees.

North Central States Optometric Council is a regional council of 8 state optometric associations whose purpose is to enhance the vision and health of the public and to promote the art and science of the profession of optometry among member states.To learn more about NCSOC, visit

Posted by Amy Dunbar at 10:51 AM


No Comments yet!

Leave A Comment

Please answer the simple math question below to submit the form.
1 + 2 =